The New Taste Of Tea

Whilst perusing the local CVS’s beverage selection, I was advised by a friend against the consumption of bottled water. It occurred to me, at that moment, that while I quite agreed with him I would still throw down my dollar fourteen with tax for a BOGO on iced tea. I would have my very own tasty drink experience, and another could be saved for later or given to a tea-less friend – and that for a cost that seems, even in harsh economies, nigh unto pittance.

Now, before you all run out to CVS and buy up all the iced ea, you should know two things. Number one is that CVS’s prices on certain contraceptives are double that of the gas station up the block, a poignant example of how capitalism can literally hold you by the balls. The other is that the tea in this bottle might seem cheap, but a dollar and a pan of water will fetch you a between ten and a hundred bags of tea, depending on the refinement of one’s palette.

This revelation made my purchase of the tea seem like lunacy. What could possibly be so expensive as to warrant such a mark up? I came to two conclusions.

First, the expensive glass bottle which chilled the tea seemed thick enough to raise expenses, but this only served to make things worse. By choosing to buy the tea at a store, not only am I paying through the nose, I’m wasting resources which will then be chucked back into a landfill, possibly in a developing country. Or your backyard. Or something else scary – people seem to believe things when they’re afraid. In any event, the materials for the bottle were a horrible excuse.

(I suppose one could argue this about shipping as well, but this follows the same reasoning while necessarily implying the consumption of fuel and the consequent worsening of air quality.)

The second thought that sprung to mind was that it may be for sugar or some such thing, and for most of us, that may do the trick. Unfortunately, I had been drinking sugarless tea for awhile in he interest of physical health – not only was the stuff costly, but it was overwhelmingly potent. I felt so ripped off, I thought about cutting the tea with water as the bottle drained, to extend its life and decrease its seeming toxicity.

I like the idea of brewing my own tea. It also seems natural that the modern go-getter should keep themselves perpetually armed, a ready bottle ever at their side for the filling should the need of drink assail them! They could even fill it with –

Water.

Good, clear, natural water. I’ve been drinking more of this, and the taste does become acquired. Shit, you could even carry a thermos of water and tea bags simultaneously, perhaps even with some mint plucked from a kitchen garden.

There is so much to my simple life that strikes discordantly against the cry of reason. In these thoughts I find wonder, inspiration, maybe even…

potential for change?

Redpillneo is a contributing writer for Project Group Think. Follow us on Twitter via the name PGTblog.

2 Comments

Filed under philosophy, Politics, social commentary

2 responses to “The New Taste Of Tea

  1. kevinkmjr

    Iced Tea is not the only place that you overpay, although it is one of the few that you have a cheaper out by making it on your own. Let’s take a fountain drink as an example. When I was a restauraunt manager we charged around $1.50 for a large fountain beverage. While doing my monthly expense reports one month I did the math and realized that it only cost me $0.13 to make said cup of fountain drink. This cost included the cup, lid, and beverage that goes inside the cup. That gave my drinks a 1,153% profit margin. I very quickly started getting my front end cashiers to begin pushing drinks as much as possible. I’m sure that a bottle doesn’t cost much more than the cup, lid, & straw, so I assume that Iced Tea makers enjoy the fact that the beverage industry

  2. I like the “fast food” angle – it seems to emphasize the weight of convenience in these decisions. What we as a society have forgotten is how often we choose this convenience out of habit, without actually considering its desirability and its cost.

Leave a Reply

